PCTI Video Production Students Win Big at Three Film Festivals

Students of Passaic County Technical Institute’s (PCTI) Video Production program have been racking up wins at separate three film festivals. Their participation in the Passaic County Film Festival, the Ocean County Library Film Festival, the Montclair Film Festival, and the Cresskill Film Festival has yielded numerous awards and even a scholarship! At the Passaic County Film Festival, students swept first through third in the High School Documentary category with Ethan Medima receiving first place (Garret Mountain Documentary), Christian Prelich in second (NASA Hunch Documentary), and Paola Apolinario in third (Your Choice, Your Career). In the High School PSA category Jordan Polansky took home second place (High School Health), while in the Music Video category, Whitney Hernandez scored second place (Every Breath You Take) and Courtney Whyte took home third (Deception). Tyrese Watkins (The Hurdle) and Anthony Montecinos (Castle) came in second and third place in the High School General Short category.

At the Ocean County Film Festival Izaius Diaz won Best Music Video (Lucid) and Paola Apolinario, Courtney Whyte, Kristalee Estrella and Erika Robertson were honored with the third place in the Documentary category (Your Choice, Your Career)!

Montclair Film Festival proved to be yet another event in which PCTI students were honored for their vision and execution in film. Both Tyrese Watkins and Tiffany Cano tied for the Special Jury Award in the Social Impact Category for their films “the Hurdle” and “Behind Closed Doors.”

At the Cresskill Film festival, Izaius Diaz won for “Lucid” and Tiffany Cano and Anthony Montecinos were listed as Finalists.

Congratulations to all on their outstanding wins!

PCTI Video Production students Ethan Medina (Paterson), Tyrese Watkins (Paterson), Courtney Whyte (Paterson), Christian Prelich (Clifton), Anthony Montecinos (Passaic), Natrall Nichols (Paterson), Jordan Polansky (Ringwood), Tiffany Cano (Haskell), Izaius Diaz (Clifton), Whitney Hernandez (Paterson), and Paola Apolinario (Passaic) celebrate their film festival wins.